iStock_000018764690_ExtraSmall.jpgAs of January 1, 2013, Colorado’s minimum wage increased from $7.64 per hour to $7.78 per hour, with tipped employee’s minimum wage increasing from $4.62 per hour to $4.76 per hour. The Colorado Division of Labor adopted Colorado Minimum Wage Order Number 29 (PDF) to reflect the new state minimum wage.  The Minimum Wage Order also provides important information about meal periods and rest breaks in Colorado.  

Where employees are covered by federal and Colorado state minimum wage laws, the employer must pay the higher minimum wage. Currently, the federal minimum wage is $7.25 per hour, which is lower than Colorado’s minimum wage of $7.78 per hour. Thus, beginning January 1, 2013, employers in Colorado must ensure all employees receive at least $7.78 per hour for all hours worked (or $4.76 per hour for tipped employees).